Survivor’s Loss Benefits
Under the Michigan no-fault law, dependents of a person who dies in a car, truck or motorcycle accident may be entitled to certain no-fault survivor’s loss benefits. Survivor’s loss benefits are payable only to dependents, which under the law typically includes spouses and children under the age of 18.
The most basic benefit is a funeral and burial expenses benefit, which provides for the payment of funeral and burial expenses of not less than $1,750 or more than $5,000, depending on the policyholder’s coverage.
Under the law, survivor’s loss benefits include the deceased’s lost wages, contributions of tangle things of economic value and replacement services. In other words, a dependent is entitled to receive the deceased’s lost wages, insurance benefits, disability coverage, and other benefits such as annuity income and lost fringe benefits.
A dependent is also entitled to receive $20.00 per day in replacement services. Survivor’s benefits are much more extensive than the benefits available in cases not involving death.
Like wage loss and replacement services, survivor’s loss benefits are payable for three years from the date of the accident. There is a maximum survivor’s loss benefit that a dependent can receive in one month. This amount is identical to the maximum work loss benefit.
Please contact Michigan no-fault attorneys at 1-800-LEE-FREE (1-800-533-3733) to learn more about survivor’s loss service benefits and the Michigan no-fault law.